Weekly Wednesday Etsy Picks–#27

Hello, Hello, Everyone! It’s been a while since I’ve gotten to blog about Etsy picks! I didn’t forget–in fact it’s been on my mind every time for the past 2 weeks that I’ve missed! Work has been crazy busy (and I’ve been passing out for naps when I get home), and I just got back from a short vacation in New Orleans. Please forgive my tardiness in posting πŸ˜› Since it’s getting close to getting prepared for the holiday season at work (and for Starbucks managers and baristas, that’s a big deal!), I’m going to go ahead and say that I may miss some posts here and there, but I won’t forget about it. Enough of my rambling–since I’m just getting back from New Orleans, I thought it would be fitting for this post to be about one of the symbols of New Orleans–the Fleur de lis. Shall we?

Item #1 is from aprilandjune

I love this set of earrings….and they’re appropriate for work! Two pluses there! They are hand-stamped and then soldered by the artist, so there is an enormous amount of handiwork that has gone into these. Soldering takes a lot of patience….A LOT. You can wear these with anything–casual or dressy…another plus. And for allergy sufferers, they are sterling silver, so there are no worries about nickel reactions!

Item #2 is from Billyrebs

I really love the why this ring has the Fleur-de-lis with a cut out edge. Softness combined with roughness–a pleasing balance! This piece was cast in sterling silver and then antiqued by the artist. This is another item that requires patience. I really find this piece gorgeous and am absolutely in love with it!

Item #3 is from BrandiCouvillion

Now, this is an interesting cuff! There was another one by this artist that I was going to feature, but this one and that je ne sais quoi I love. I’ll link the other one here so you can check it out–it’s gorgeous as well! The listing has a brief history of the bayou and swampy areas of New Orleans that is quite interesting, and the process for creating this piece is described. Lots of detail as well as patience is required for this piece, but I feel that is what makes handmade pieces so remarkable. Awesome work!

Item #4 is from mimosabyme

I saw this piece and thought it was really neat. The New Orleans skyline is hand carved into the metal. It’s different from what we normally think of when we think about New Orleans since I’m guessing the first image that pops into most people’s heads is the French Quarter or Vampires. Don’t get me wrong, I love that part of the city, but this is something different–to remind those of us not from the area (only, me–my boyfriend was born there) that there is more to the New Orleans area than just the French Quarter.

**Just a note here…for some reason this item and the shop have disappeared since I started this post 😦 I don’t know what happened, but I still wanted to showcase it.

Item #5 is from thesilverart

Again, another cuff bracelet…can you tell I’m a fan? I really like that this is adjustable because it’s not always easy to hook a lobster clasp..haha. My preference is definitely the adjustable since I stink at hooking the other! The Fleur-de-lis is the crowning touch to the ends of this bracelet after the dainty metal-beading. Simple, simple, and then BAM.

And, since #4 wasn’t working, Item #6 is from ahunterrn

This is seriously cute! If you’ve been to New Orleans, you know there are streetcars going to and fro. This charm has the name “Desire” stamped on it, and there is a tag stamped with “New Orleans” attached to the clasp. Definitely a must have for a frequent visitor or a native!

That’s all I have for now. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post (and on time) next week! Now hop on over to your favorite handmade site and show some artists some love!

Until next time,Β 

-M

Leave a Reply

