Chicken Enchilada Casserole Bake

rsz_1rsz_waffles

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe that I’ve tried, but I’m finally getting around to it. Work has had me worn out, and cooking really isn’t what I want to do when I get home. I’ve been plopping myself down and not really moving from that point. For this post, I’m showing you my Chicken Enchilada Casserole Bake. I’d never tried it before, so I was a tad bit worried about what it would taste like, but it was definitely a success. I really liked it and so did everyone else. I will go ahead and mention that this will make a large casserole plus a smaller one. I froze the smaller one for later πŸ™‚ I combined the recipes from Jo CooksΒ andΒ Β DamnDelicious. I liked aspects of both, so I experimented and meshed them into one.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients:

-4-5 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
-2 cans whole kernel corn, drained and rinsed
-2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
-2 small cans diced green chilies, drained
-3 cups rice, cooked
-2 cans fire-roasted tomatoes, drained
-1 large can red enchilada sauce
-shredded cheese
-tortillas, enough to create layers
*Note: Small canΒ β€Ή 8oz; can = regular size can; large canΒ β€Ί 14 oz

Step 1:Β Cook chicken. Once slightly cool, shred. I say slightly cool because I covered mine and put them in the refrigerator to shred the next day—it wasn’t too easy, so I suggest doing it while they’re still fairly warm.

Step 2: While waiting for the chicken to cool, get your rice cooking. I can’t remember whether I used 2 or 3 cups, but I’m pretty sure it was 3.

Step 3: Drain and rinse corn and beans. Drain chilies and tomatoes.

Step 4: Combine chicken, corn, black beans, chilies, rice, tomatoes, and enchilada sauce in a LARGE mixing bowl. Go big or go home, right? I always want enough for left overs or for freezing.

Mixing

Mix it All Up

Step 5: Set your oven to 350Β°F.

Step 6: Line a 9×13 deep casserole dish with flour tortillas. Make a layer of the ingredient mixture and add cheese on top. Repeat the process. Don’t cover the top layer of the mixture and cheese with tortillas. You want that all nice and bubbly. Β Note: I also used feta cheese in addition to the shredded cheddar cheese…I’m a cheese freak.

IMG_4509

Layer

IMG_4514

It’s Cheese Time!

Ready to Put in the Oven!

Ready to Put in the Oven!

Step 7: Put your casserole in the oven for 20-30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.

IMG_4521

Step 8: Remove casserole from oven and let sit for 5 minutes. DIG IN!

Like I said at the beginning, everyone enjoyed it. We ate on it for several days we like it so much. If you try it out, comment below and let me know what you think!

Like, comment, share, or link and stay tuned for more yummy goodness!

Until next time,Β 

-M

Leave a Reply

